• Platinum Member

Platinum Member 2021: The University of Sydney Centre in China

We are excited to announce the University of Sydney Centre in China as a new AustCham Shanghai Platinum Member, and Michael Milne as the university nominee.

The University of Sydney has been a proud member of AustCham Shanghai since 2009. We look forward to working closely with the University of Sydney Centre in China to support the Australian university students and alumni in China in the coming year.

About The University of Sydney

Established in 1850, the University of Sydney is Australia’s first university and has a long history of links to China. Research and collaboration with China has resulted in pioneering applications across many fields, which includes groundbreaking joint research now tackling global challenges in health and medicine, environment protection and sustainable development. The University is home to more than 12,000 students from China, with around 50,000 alumni living in China. The two-way exchange of students and researchers is fundamental to the University’s internationalisation agenda.

The University Centre in China was established in 2016 to connect the University of Sydney, its researchers, and its students to China by providing a platform to create innovation and knowledge networks, identify emerging opportunities and strengthen research collaboration and mobility.


Michael Milne was appointed as the Executive Director of the University of Sydney’s China Centre in late 2018. He has worked at the University of Sydney since 2010, as Chief Operating Officer of the University’s Brain and Mind Centre till 2013 and then as the Chief Operating Officer of the Charles Perkins Centre till 2019. He has worked in various roles in the higher education and public sector for more than 25 years.

Michael graduated from La Trobe University with a Bachelor of Arts (Hons) in History, Philosophy and Politics, and a Postgraduate Diploma in Humanities (Mandarin). He has studied and worked in China, Taiwan and the United Arab Emirates.